Archive | Gold Glove RSS for this section

Manager Search 2: The Update

Posted by JE Powell

11-13-11 8:15 pm

It’s been reported that the Cardinals have hired Mike Matheny as their new Manager.

In my last post about the manager search, I talked about who I thought the contenders were and who the pretenders were. Since then, I have learned that I was, sort of, wrong. I had Terry Francona, Jose Oquendo, and Ryne Sandberg as the top three. Since then I have learned that one of the three that I quickly, and perhaps unfairly, dismissed could actually be in the lead to get the job. Bernie Miklasz of the St. Louis Post dispatch has done an excellent (as always) job of breaking down the candidates and believes that Mike Matheny will get the job.

Read More…

And the Award Goes To…

Posted by JE Powell

Today is the 5th and final day of the United Cardinal Bloggers Monthly Project for March and now we get to the awards part of the show. Who will win what? Like a blind squirrel maybe I will find a nut (according to my wife I AM a nut).

American League

C y Young–Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners

King Felix was so good for the Seattle Mariners last season that he won the 2010 Cy Young award with a 13-12 record. It’s hard to win games with a pathetic offense, but the voters took that into consideration and gave it to, in my opinion, the right guy. I see a repeat. Depending on when/if a trade happens, that could hurt his chances, though.

MVP–Adrian Gonzalez, Boston Red Sox

Gonzalez has quite a bit more protection around him this year than in years past, so I look for him to have a monster season. He’s a Gold Glove winner and I think after the 2011 season, he will be an MVP, too.

Manager of the Year–Terry Francona, Boston Red Sox

Why not? If the Red Sox win the division, which I think they will, I think we will see with a MOY on Terry’s desk. Well, I guess we wouldn’t actually see it on his desk, but you get my point.

Gold Gloves

Ichiro Suzuki, Carl Crawford, Adrian Gonzalez, Evan Longoria, Joe Mauer, Brendan Ryan, Mark Buehrle, Franklin Gutierrez, and Robinson Cano

National League

Cy YoungJosh Johnson, Florida Marlins

I know that the odds on favorite will be Roy Halladay or Cliff Lee, but Adam Wainwright and Chris Carpenter have taken votes away from each other the past few years, so I think that’s going to happen with Halladay and Lee this season. Josh Johnson pitched very well last year and I think he is going to take home the award this year.

MVP–Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

Sure, Joey Votto won it last year, but who in their right mind will pick against AP5?

Manager of the Year–Fredi Gonzalez, Atlanta Braves

I picked them to win the division this year and I think if they do, Gonzalez will win the award because just about everybody expects the Phillies to run away with the division.

Gold Gloves

Yadier Molina, Albert Pujols, Scott Rolen (if he stays healthy all year), Troy Tulowitzki, Brandon Phillips, Cliff Lee, Michael Bourn, Matt Holliday, and Shane Victorino.

I decided not to do the the Silver Slugger award because it’s just not as a high profile awards as the other four. I also didn’t do the Hank Aaron, Relief Pitcher, Comeback Player, or Rookie of the year awards because I didn’t feel like it. Just to be honest.

Just a quick note: This is a gripe of mine about the NL MVP last season (it’s done, there’s nothing I can do about it, I need to get over it, etc.), but Joey Votto won the MVP award last year, but Pujols won the Gold Glove at 1st base, Silver Slugger, had more home runs, runs, RBI, hits, less strike outs, more doubles, and more at bats than Votto. Votto had a slightly better OBP, OPS, and SLG, but just a hairs difference. I feel that Pujols should have won it last year. Don’t get me wrong, Joey Votto did an exceptional job last year, but overall, I don’t think he was more valuable than Pujols.